carousel

He was like a short-lived carousel ride.

He spun me around, and around, and around. He showed me all the beauty that surrounded me. He showed me all the wonders the world can offer. He made me feel things I never thought I’d feel once again. He made me feel cherished and loved. He made me feel happy.

He spun me around, and around, and around. Like a child, he made all the things that were familiar to me as if they were made of wonder. He made places I’ve already been to, feel like paradise. He made all the old things new again.

He spun me around, and around, and around. He brought color to my lifeless world. He brought a smile to my lips and feelings into my heart.  I never want these emotions to go away. I never wanted to stop, when I look at him, the world spins all around us and he is the only constant thing I see. I don’t want to go down.

He spun me around, and around, and around. Everything started to slow down. The world suddenly slowed spinning around. The feelings you sent me stopped making my heart flutter and when I look at you, it feels like we haven’t met each other. What do I do with these moments we spent together? Why does it feel like to you, it doesn’t even matter? Why is it that as I take each step away from you, I feel so out of place?

He stopped spinning me around, and around, and around. He told me that all these feelings were one-sided and he didn’t feel the same. He told me that he just did what he does best. He told me I could always ride again, as long as I set aside my love for him, we could always be friends.

No matter how hard it is to accept it, I hesitantly agreed. As it turns out, you‘re just a carousel ride and I’m a rider you won’t need.

Leave a Reply

